Missed calls, slow replies, no-shows: which numbers are real?
Owner Workflows sells a related service, for a fee: an inbox that catches missed calls and inquiries. Every figure links to where it came from, and vendor figures are labeled.
Most of the famous figures about missed calls and reply speed are from 2007–2016, are about software sales teams, or have no source at all. The best current figures say that about half of calls to home-service businesses reach a person (Invoca, 2026, vendor data) and that 31% of missed calls are returned within 48 hours (Quo, 2026, vendor data); median salon no-show rates run 1–4% by segment on one platform (Zenoti, 2025 data, vendor). Your own phone log gives a better number than any of them, and it takes a few minutes to count.
The famous numbers and where they actually come from
Each claim below is traced as far back as I could read it. “Do not use” means the claim has no source, no sample or no definition that holds up. “History only” means it is real but old or about a different kind of business. “Usable with label” means it can be quoted with its publisher, date and definition, and “vendor” where the publisher sells in the category.
How a claim travels: “up to 85% of callers won’t call back” goes back to a CallRail blog post, which a January 2025 CallRail release linked to, and which Plumber magazine, 9 Sep 2026 then repeated as a finding of that report. No primary source sits behind it.
| Claim | Where it comes from | Year | Sample | What it measured | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| “62% of calls to small businesses go unanswered” | A blog post; vendors re-date it | 2016 | 85 businesses | Voicemail counted as unanswered | Do not use |
| “85% of callers won’t call back” (also “up to 85%”) | No primary source; CallRail’s 2025 release links it to a blog post | Not known | None published | Not known | Do not use |
| “78% buy from the first company to respond” | A “Lead Connect” survey that can’t be traced | Not known | Not known | Not known | Do not use |
| “100x / 21x more likely within 5 minutes” | A study of B2B companies | 2007 | Six companies | B2B lead response | History only: 2007, six B2B companies |
| “64% say no four times”, “72% never follow up”, “87% give up after one attempt” | A ServiceTitan page, with no source given | Not stated | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| “20% leave voicemails” | Weave, with no source given | Not stated | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| “83% choose the first responder” | Moneypenny; method not published | Not stated | Not published | Not stated | Do not use |
| “36% of the week on admin” | A vendor survey, recycled as “Forbes” | 2023 | 251 | Not stated | Do not use |
| “80% / over 80% won’t leave a voicemail” | Credited to Ruby with no citation | Not stated | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| “391% more conversions within 1 minute”; “35–50% go to the first responder”; “71% of internet leads wasted” | Untraceable, or a vendor executive’s 2012 column | 2012 or not known | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| “Up to 24% of home-service calls missed” | Nextiva, crediting Invoca; conflicts with Invoca’s own figure | Not stated | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| Zenoti “3% no-show / 8% cancellation” | Not found on Zenoti; Zenoti’s 2026 segment medians replace it | Not known | Not known | Not known | Do not use |
| Zenoti “up to 5%” and “$6,864 a year” | No source, date or sample given | Not stated | None given | Not stated | Do not use |
| 52% of calls to home-services businesses reach a person; 65% of calls over 15 s; 73% over 30 s; 32%–74% by sub-industry | Invoca home services report, July 2026 (vendor) | 2026 | Home services drawn from 70M+ calls across 10 industries; nine sub-industries; data period not stated; customers skew to larger marketers | Calls answered by a person | Usable with label |
| 56% of calls across Invoca’s base speak with a person (44% not) | Invoca 2026 benchmarks, July 2026 (vendor) | 2026 | 70M+ calls, 10 industries | Includes misdials and quick hang-ups | Usable with label |
| Home services “missed” 14% (healthcare 32%, legal 28%, real estate 9%) | CallRail release, 14 Jan 2025 (vendor) | 2025 | 1.1M conversations | “Missed” not defined | Usable with label |
| 31% of missed calls returned within 48 hours (healthcare 41%, professional services 33%) | Quo, 20 Aug 2026 (vendor) | 2026 | 16.7M missed calls by Quo customers over three months | Any outbound call to that number within 48 h; “missed” not defined | Usable with label |
| 37% of calls to salons and spas unanswered | Zenoti, March 2026 (vendor) | 2026 | HyperConnect, 1M+ calls a month, 3,500+ locations; no formal sample | Unanswered calls | Usable with label |
| 42% say they leave a voicemail; 21% immediately call another business; 82% would call a competitor | CallRail survey, 25 Sep 2025 (vendor) | 2025 | 1,000 US consumers | Stated intent, not behavior | Usable with label |
| 20% of home-service owners reply within an hour; customers choose on price 62%, reviews 51%, speed 25% | Jobber Home Service Trends Report, survey Dec 2025 (vendor) | 2025 | 1,050 US home-service owners via Conjointly, ±3 points at 90% | Owner-reported | Usable with label |
| “More than half” of contractors respond to new leads within the hour | ServiceTitan, as reported in [date of release] (vendor) | Check before use | 1,000 contractors | Contractor-reported | Usable with label, after checking |
| Salon no-show medians 1–4% by segment | Zenoti calculator page, 13 May 2026, and metrics guide (vendor) | 2025 data | “30,000+ businesses” across 8 North American segments | Rates not defined | Usable with label |
| 23% average no-show rate | Dantas et al., Health Policy, as relayed by SchedulingKit | 2018 | Review of 105 healthcare studies | Healthcare appointments only | Usable for healthcare only |
| Automated reminders cut no-shows 29% | Hasvold and Wootton, as relayed by SchedulingKit | 2011 | 29 studies | Healthcare appointments only | Usable for healthcare only |
| 37% of companies responded to online leads within an hour | HBR, “The Short Life of Online Sales Leads”, March 2011; full text paywalled, figures secondhand via Verse.ai | 2011 | 2,241 companies audited | B2B lead response | History only |
| InsideSales “8x within 5 minutes”; Drift “7% respond within 5 minutes” | As audited by Carly (vendor) | 2021; 2017 | 5.7M leads, 400+ companies; 433 B2B SaaS companies | B2B lead response | History only |
| More than half hire the first business to respond | The Time to Win, Jay Baer | 2022–23 | “More than 1,900 consumers”, country not stated | Stated preference | Weak |
| 69% hung up rather than leave a message | Moneypenny, 21 Nov 2016 (vendor) | 2016 | 300 micro businesses plus call data; US and UK mixed | Hung up rather than leave a message | History only |
Missed calls: what current data says
- Invoca (vendor): 52% of calls to home-services businesses reach a person, 65% of calls over 15 seconds and 73% over 30 seconds, from 32% to 74% across nine sub-industries (home services report, July 2026). Across all 10 industries in its base, 56% of calls speak with a person, a figure that includes misdials and quick hang-ups (2026 benchmarks). Its customers skew to larger marketers.
- CallRail (vendor): home services “missed” 14% of calls, against healthcare 32%, legal 28% and real estate 9%, from 1.1 million conversations (release, 14 Jan 2025). The release does not define “missed”.
- Quo (vendor): 31% of missed calls were returned within 48 hours, with healthcare at 41% and professional services at 33%, from 16.7 million missed calls by its customers over three months (Quo, 20 Aug 2026). A callback means any outbound call to that number within 48 hours.
- Zenoti (vendor): 37% of calls to salons and spas went unanswered, from its HyperConnect phone product (more than 1 million calls a month across 3,500+ locations, no formal sample) (Zenoti, March 2026).
These four count different things: answered by a person, “missed” with no definition, and returned within 48 hours. Their numbers can’t be compared with each other directly.
How many callers leave a message?
The only US figure is stated intent: 42% of 1,000 US consumers told CallRail they leave a voicemail when a business misses their call (CallRail, 25 Sep 2025, vendor). No study measures how many callers to small businesses actually leave one, as JustCall’s own audit of these figures also says (JustCall, 22 Sep 2026, vendor). Your phone log can tell you; the voicemail greeting page has a counter for your message rate.
Reply speed: what home-service data says, and why price still wins
Jobber surveyed 1,050 US home-service owners in December 2025 (Jobber Home Service Trends Report, via Conjointly, ±3 points at 90%; vendor). Owners report that their customers expect a reply immediately (28%) or within an hour (28%), but only 20% of owners say they reply within an hour, and 11% in HVAC. Asked what customers hire on, owners put price first (62%), then reviews (51%), then speed of first response (25%). These expectations are what owners report, not what customers said.
ServiceTitan reports that “more than half” of contractors respond to new leads within the hour, from a survey of 1,000 contractors (ServiceTitan, as reported in [date of release]; vendor). That conflicts with Jobber’s 20%, and neither survey checked replies against real leads. Jay Baer’s The Time to Win found that more than half of consumers hire the first business to respond (The Time to Win, 2022–23, “more than 1,900 consumers”, country not stated), a weaker source than Jobber’s, whose owners rank speed third at 25%.
What to send after a quote goes quiet is on the quote follow-up page.
After-hours calls: no traceable share exists
Percentages from about 5% to 60% circulate; none traces to a study with a sample and a definition. The after-hours page shows how to count your own.
No-shows: healthcare numbers are not salon numbers
| Figure | Who it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 23% average no-show rate | Healthcare only | Dantas et al., Health Policy, 2018, review of 105 healthcare studies, as relayed by SchedulingKit (academic, secondhand) |
| Median no-show rates: full-service salons 1%, salons 2%, barbershops 4%, nail studios 4%; nail cancellations 11% | Salons and barbers on one platform | Zenoti calculator page (13 May 2026) and metrics guide, calendar-2025 data, “30,000+ businesses” across 8 North American segments; rates not defined (vendor) |
| Automated reminders cut no-shows 29% | Healthcare only | Hasvold and Wootton, 2011, 29 studies, as relayed by SchedulingKit (academic, secondhand) |
No home-services no-show rate exists in any source I read. Salon policy wording is on the salon cancellation policy page.
Count your own numbers
- Open four weeks of call history from your business line: your phone system’s portal or app, or your carrier account. A mobile phone’s recent-calls list works but may not show how long a call rang. Google Business Profile no longer keeps call history (Google removed it on 31 July 2024).
- Keep incoming calls only. Drop calls shorter than 15 seconds (Invoca uses this filter to remove misdials and quick hang-ups) and numbers you know are spam.
- Mark each remaining call: answered by a person / voicemail left / hung up with no message. Also mark whether it came in outside your posted hours, so you can count both all calls and missed calls outside your hours.
- For missed calls, check whether you called the number back within 48 hours.
- Optional: count repeat calls from the same number within 24 hours, and which missed callers later became jobs.
Where to find the log, by system (paths read October 2026):
- Quo: Analytics (Business and Scale plans; export CSV).
- Dialpad: Analytics, with business-hours and out-of-hours filters.
- Grasshopper: web portal, Messages & Calls → Missed calls.
- RingCentral: online call log, download to Excel.
- Zenoti HyperConnect: missed calls by hour and day.
- Everyone else, or anyone on a personal cell: tally every call for one normal week (Monday to Sunday) on paper.
How this page was checked
I traced each figure to the earliest page I could read and recorded its publisher, date, sample and definition. Figures from companies that sell phone, booking or lead software are labeled “vendor”. Every figure was checked on 12 October 2026, and I re-check them every six months. I could not read the full text of HBR’s 2011 article (paywalled), Ruby’s 2022 report, or the primary sources for Drift 2017 and Velocify 2012, so figures from those appear only as others report them.
Sources
- Invoca, Home Services Lead Conversion Benchmarks Report 2026, July 2026, re-checked 12 Oct 2026 (vendor): invoca.com
- Invoca, Lead Conversion Benchmarks Report 2026, July 2026 (vendor): invoca.com
- CallRail, report release on Business Wire, 14 Jan 2025 (vendor): businesswire.com
- CallRail, consumer survey, 25 Sep 2025 (vendor): callrail.com
- Quo, small-business callback statistics, 20 Aug 2026 (vendor): quo.com
- Zenoti, salon call conversion, March 2026 (vendor): zenoti.com
- Zenoti, no-show revenue calculator, 13 May 2026 (vendor): zenoti.com
- Zenoti, salon and barbershop metrics guide, calendar-2025 data (vendor): zenoti.com
- Jobber, Home Service Trends Report, survey December 2025 (vendor): getjobber.com
- ServiceTitan, contractor survey release, date of release to be checked (vendor): servicetitan.com
- Carly, speed-to-lead source audit (vendor): usecarly.com
- JustCall, missed-call statistics audit, 22 Sep 2026 (vendor): justcall.io
- Harvard Business Review, “The Short Life of Online Sales Leads”, March 2011: hbr.org
- Jay Baer, The Time to Win, 2022–23: thetimetowin.com
- Moneypenny, small business call report, 21 Nov 2016 (vendor): moneypenny.com
- SchedulingKit, no-show statistics, relaying Dantas et al., Health Policy, 2018, and Hasvold and Wootton, 2011: schedulingkit.com
- Plumber magazine, 9 Sep 2026: plumbermag.com
- Google, Business Profile call history removal, 31 July 2024: support.google.com